FBS Realignment 2

As a follow up to my previous post on what could happen with FBS conferences realignment, I thought to put forth my preference.

My preference would be for the Big XII to go to Big XIV in 2014 with the addition of Pittsburgh, Florida State, Miami and Northern Illinois. Once the Big XII go to 12, divisions will have to be set up, in which case might as well go to XIV. The Big XII already owns the rights to Big XIV. Regarding divisional alignment, I would set up a zipper through Texas (2 teams each), Oklahoma, Kansas, Florida, ISU v NIU, and Pittsburgh v WVU. Fourteen teams means divisions of 7 for 6 in-division games, 1 annual cross-division rivalry game, and 2 rotating cross-division games (one away and one home game) among the remaining 6 cross-division teams.

Division A & Division B, listed as annual cross division games.

Baylor & Texas Christian
Texas & Texas Tech (Chancellor's Spurs since 1928)
Oklahoma & Oklahoma State (Bedlam Series since 1904)
Kansas & Kansas State (Sunflower Showdown since 1902)
Northern Illinois & Iowa State
West Virginia & Pittsburgh (Backyard Brawl)
Miami & Florida State (Battle of Sunshine State)

As a result of this the ACC will need three teams: UConn, USF, and Cincinnati.

Atlantic Division & Coastal Division, listed as annual cross division games.
Boston College & Southern Florida
Clemson & Georgia Tech
Virginia Tech & Virginia
North Carolina State & North Carolina
Wake Forest & Duke
Syracuse & UConn
Louisville & Cincinnati

The MAC can hold at 12 or approach Temple, Navy, Army, Marshall, and or Western Kentucky for 14 teams.

West Division: Bowling Green, Toledo, Miami Ohio, Central Michigan, Eastern Michigan, Western Michigan, and Ball State
East Division: Kent State, Akron, Ohio, Massachusetts, Buffalo, Navy, and Army

Alternative MAC with zippered divisions, listed as annual cross rivalry games:
Division A & Division B
Ohio & Miami (Battle of the Bricks for 89 games)
Central Michigan & Western Michigan (the Victory Cannon for 83 games)Bowling Green & Toledo (Peace Pipe for 76 games)
Kent State & Akron (Wagon Wheel for 54 games)
Massachusetts & Buffalo
Eastern Michigan & Ball State
Navy & Army

The MWC can take San Diego State, SMU and Houston to go to 14.

Mountain Division & West Division, listed as annual cross division games.
Colorado St. & Air Force
Nevada Las Vegas & Nevada
San Jose St. & Fresno St.
Wyoming  & Boise St.
San Diego St. & Hawaii
New Mexico & Utah St.
Southern Methodist & Houston

The remnant of the new Big East, Tulane, Memphis, ECU, UCF, will be unable to form a new conference and will return to the CUSA, leaving them with 18 unless a few schools (such as Florida Atlantic, Florida International, Middle Tennessee, and North Texas) decides to return to the Sun Belt. In that case the CUSA will remain at 14 (Houston and SMU will be replaces with North Carolina Charlotte, Old Dominion, UT San Antonio, and Louisiana Tech).

West Division: Tulsa, Rice, UTEP, UTSA, Memphis, Louisiana Tech, and Tulane
East Division: Marshall, ECU, UCF, UAB, Old Dominion, UNC Charlotte

Alternative CUSA zippered, listed as annual cross division games.
Division A & Division B
Southern Mississippi & Memphis
Louisiana Tech & Tulane
Rice & Tulsa
Alabama Birmingham & Central Florida
Eastern Carolina & North Carolina Charlotte 
Texas San Antonio & Texas El Paso
Marshall & Old Dominion

The Sun Belt will have 12 with the current 10 and the addition of Texas State and Georgia State.

West Division: Arkansas State, Louisiana Lafayette, Louisiana Monroe, North Texas, Texas State, and South Alabama
East Division: Western Kentucky, Middle Tennessee, Troy, Florida Atlantic, Florida International, Georgia State
(Texas Arlington & Arkansas Little Rock)

Alternatively Sun Belt can also move to a zippered conference format with an annual cross division rival:
Division A & Division B
Louisiana Lafayette & Louisiana Monroe (Battle of the Bayou)
Georgia State & Arkansas State
South Alabama & Troy
Middle Tennessee & Western Kentucky
North Texas & Texas State
Florida International & Florida Atlantic(Shula Bowl)

Left unaligned are Notre Dame, Temple, BYU, Idaho, and New Mexico State.

No comments: